my life

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Poll on Online shopping July 20, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — xiaomaque @ 1:47 am

Trying something new.. A poll!! Recently had a pretty bad online shopping experience. A misunderstanding really. That website’s invoice stated that orders has been processed and items will reach Singapore within 7 working days. I thought they meant that my order will reach my house in 7 working days! So I waited for a week and it’s not here yet!

However, I bought a similar top for my friend (different colour though) and she received it just 2 days after I ordered. Furthermore, I received a mail from another customer (shld be competitor) that the website I just ordered from is a scam. !!!! Ahhh.. Plus I emailed them twice and they didn’t reply for a week! All this adds up to a REALLY BAD EXPERIENCE. But I do dearly want my tops~ Thus, started a poll for the fun of it. What do you people think about online shopping? Will list some pros and cons to help you make your choice! =P

Pros

  • Provide competition to other shops and hence lower their prices
  • A source of entertainment
  • Convenient
  • Able to source different opinions (some blogshops do give good advices, to encourage you to buy from them~)
  • Keep up with trends easily

Cons

  • It is just an excuse for spending
  • You never know if it is a scam
  • Transfer of money is never safe unless it is cold hard cash
  • Encourage teens as young as 12 to enter the market, giving them false impression about how money is everything
  • You don’t get to have a feel of the material, no idea about the quality and sizes

Ok people, here you go. A moment of truth~ Poll will end on 10th Aug! (I’ve got camps for 2 weeks!)

*Still waiting for my clothes, patiently…

 

2 Responses to “Poll on Online shopping”

  1. TT Says:

    Hey babe,

    Just stumbled on your blog while blog hopping. Thought your post is kinda interesting so decided to leave a comment. I’m a online shopper and, well, seller too. So I do understand the risks of buying things from online. Was almost cheated once by this infamous blogspree called Nicespree. =S Don’t really trust sprees from then on. BTW they were on the news, arrested for cheating more than S$20k I think. If you think a blogshop/spree is suspicious (usually selling clothes cheaper than most shops), my advise is not to even buy from them. If you suspect you were cheated, you can check around some online shoppers too. There will surely be others that were cheated. Can make a police report if the spree is local. I personally prefer buying from blogshops with people actually trying on the clothes, snap photos and take measurements. Much safer that way. Cause they wouldn’t go through so much trouble to cheat your money. Haha. And for me, working 8am to 6pm everyday leaves me with very little time to shop outside. Which is why I prefer online shopping. =) Hope you wouldn’t stop buying clothes from online.

    Just my 5cents worth. =)

    And hopefully your mail comes soon. Sometimes they do get lost at the post office side. And if it’s from overseas, it is almost impossible to check. The sender could have sent it, got lost, and our local post office can’t do anything about it as well.

    =)


Leave a comment